Calendars

Important Dates 2019-2020

Reminder that early departures for vacations are strongly discouraged and should be avoided except for in the most urgent of situations. Transportation to and from Bradley Airport and Union Station in Hartford on the days before and at the end of break is provided for those who sign up in advance. For information on transportation, please contact the Dean of Students Office at 860-408-4237.

View Printable Calendar


2019

September

Monday, September 2 Labor Day (Campus closed)
Tuesday, September 3 9:00 a.m.-9:30 a.m. 8th Grade Check-In and Departure
9:00 a.m.-10:30 a.m. Registration for Boarding Students (Preseason, Proctors/Big 7, Orientation Leaders only)
10:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. Registration for Day Students (Preseason, Proctors/Big 7, Orientation Leaders only)
Wednesday, September 4

8:00 a.m.-8:30 a.m. 6th and 7th Grade Check-In and Departure

Preseason Practices, Orientation Leader Training

Thursday, September 5

9:00 a.m. Middle School Programming Begins
9:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. Registration for Returning Upper School Boarders, Preseason Practices
10:30 a.m.-11:00 a.m. Registration for Returning Upper School Day Students
11:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. Registration for New Upper School Students, Orientation Program
5:00 p.m. New Girl Chapel
5:30 p.m. Goodbye on Chapel Lawn
5:30 p.m. Head's Reception for Parents
5:30 p.m. BBQ and Lawn Party for Students
7:00 p.m. Middle and Day Students Depart, Dorm Programming Begins

Friday, September 6 8:15 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Half Day of Classes (All School)
12:00 p.m.-1:00 p.m. Lunch with Your Advisor
1:00 p.m.-2:00 p.m. Student Meetings
2:30 p.m.-4:30 p.m. Co-curricular Meetings and Practices
5:00 p.m.-5:30 p.m. Vespers
5:30 p.m.-6:30 p.m. Opening Banquet
6:30 p.m. Middle School Students Depart
6:30 p.m.-8:30 p.m. Evening Activities (Required for Upper School)
8:30 p.m. Day Students Depart
Saturday, September 7 8:15 a.m.-12:00 p.m. Half Day of Classes (All School)
12:00 p.m.-1:00 p.m. Lunch by Grade
1:30 p.m.-3:30 p.m. Co-curricular Practices
4:00 p.m.-7:30 p.m. Required Evening Activities
7:30 p.m. Middle School Dismissal
9:00 p.m.-11:00 p.m. Dorm Activities
Upper School Day Students are welcome in their affiliated dorm
Monday, September 9 First Full Day of Classes (All School), Semester 1 Begins

October

Friday, October 18-
Saturday, October 19
Family Weekend, Dorms Close 5:00 p.m. Saturday
Sunday, October 20-
Tuesday, October 22
Long Fall Weekend (Dorms Closed)
Tuesday, October 22 Dorms Open at 3:00 p.m.
Wednesday, October 23 Classes Resume

November

Friday, November 22 12:00 p.m. Dismissal for Thanksgiving Break (Dorms Close at 5:00 p.m.)
Saturday, November 23-
Monday, December 2
Thanksgiving Break

December

Monday, December 2 Dorms Open at 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, December 3 Classes Resume
Wednesday, December 18-
Friday, December 20
Midterm Assessments
Friday, December 20 3:00 p.m. Dismissal for Winter Break (Dorms Close at 5:00 p.m.)
Saturday, December 21-
Monday, January 6
Winter Break

 

2020

January

Monday, January 6 Dorms Open at 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, January 7 Classes Resume

February

Thursday, February 6 3:30 p.m. Dismissal for Long Winter Weekend (Dorms Closed)
Friday, February 7-
Monday, February 10
No School, Long Winter Weekend
Tuesday, February 11 Classes Resume

March

Friday, March 6 12:00 p.m. Dismissal for Spring Break (Dorms Close at 5:00 p.m.)
Saturday, March 7-
Monday, March 23
Spring Break
Monday, March 23 Dorms Open at 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, March 24 Classes Resume

April

Thursday, April 16 3:30 p.m. Dismissal for Long Spring Weekend (Dorms Closed)
Friday, April 17-
Monday, April 20
No School, Long Spring Weekend
Monday, April 20 Dorms Open at 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, April 21 Classes Resume

May

Friday, May 15-
Saturday, May 16
Reunion
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day, No School

June

Tuesday, June 2-
Thursday, June 4
Final Assessments
Friday, June 5 Middle School Promotion Ceremony - Required for Middle School
Saturday, June 6 Commencement Activities - Required for Upper School
Sunday, June 7 Commencement - Required for All

All School Calendar

All School Calendar

Athletics Schedule

To add athletic events to your device's calendar, use the following iCal url: http://www.ethelwalker.org/calendar/page_546_gmt.ics

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jul 28
Mon, Jul 29
Tue, Jul 30
Wed, Jul 31
Thu, Aug 1
Fri, Aug 2
Sat, Aug 3
Sun, Aug 4
Mon, Aug 5
Tue, Aug 6
Wed, Aug 7
Thu, Aug 8
Fri, Aug 9
Sat, Aug 10
Sun, Aug 11
Mon, Aug 12
Tue, Aug 13
Wed, Aug 14
Thu, Aug 15
Fri, Aug 16
Sat, Aug 17
Sun, Aug 18
Mon, Aug 19
Tue, Aug 20
Wed, Aug 21
Thu, Aug 22
Fri, Aug 23
Sat, Aug 24
Sun, Aug 25
Mon, Aug 26
Tue, Aug 27
Wed, Aug 28
Thu, Aug 29
Fri, Aug 30
Sat, Aug 31