Menu

Kathy Kleis

Kathy Kleis

Kathy Kleis

Math Faculty

sun

B.A., B.S., University of Rhode Island

Ms. Kleis went to URI where she double majored in Secondary Education/Mathematics and minored in Leadership. Having specialized in high-need programs, she has experience teaching in Providence, Bridgeport, and Hartford. A fun fact is she has now taught at every type of school: metropolitan, charter, public, and now private. She has a twin sister and absolutely loves fashion, travel, and sports — especially basketball and lacrosse.


What other roles do you hold on campus?

Library Affiliate, New Dorm Affiliate, JV Basketball Coach, Varsity Lacrosse Coach

What was it about Walker’s that made you want to work here?

I was excited to teach at an all-girls school and coach a sport I love!

What is the most rewarding part about working at Walker’s?

The relationship with the students.

What is your favorite place on campus?

My classroom.

What was your favorite subject when you were in middle or high school? Why?

Math! I came to America not being able to speak English, so numbers were able to speak to me much more easily than words as I became more Americanized. Numbers just made sense to me and I loved the verification it gave me when I was correct. Problem-solving was my favorite.

Why did you want to go into teaching?

My mom said I would always say I wanted to be a teacher as a child. I always loved being able to share my knowledge with others, but in an encouraging way that would make it fun. I used to tutor all the time in high school, and I always worked with kids as an instructor or counselor as a teenager.

What is your favorite part of the subject you teach now?

I love that when you finally understand the whys and hows behind math, that everything does have a way of connecting in the most amazing way. I also believe the principles that make us successful in math now will be very beneficial to the futures of all students because it allows them to apply it to the real world.

What is your favorite thing to do in your free time?

I love spending time and doing activities with my friends and family, loving my dog Bella and taking her for walks, and experiencing new adventures and traveling.