2019 Varsity Field Hockey Season Recap
2019 Varsity Field Hockey Season Recap

Walker's varsity field hockey team has been a dominant program over the last decade under Head Coach Mimi Duran. Since 2007, the team has qualified nine times for the post-season New England Preparatory School Athletic Council (NEPSAC) Class C tournament, and in back-to-back seasons, the team was named NEPSAC Class C finalists. For the fourth consecutive season, Walker's earned the title of Western New England Class C Champions.

This fall, the team was led by captains Ava Rivera '20, Kat Mason '21, and Claire Shemo '21 (not pictured). The team finished the season with an overall regular-season record of 10-6-1 and a season record of 12-7-1, including four shutouts.

For making it to the NEPSAC tournament, Walker's also is represented with tournament team selections. The First-Team Selections are Ava, Kat, and Ellie Brothers '22. NEPSAC Tournament Honorable mention selections include Ava Calma '22 and Kalista Fontanella '22. Kat and Ava were named WNEPSFHA All-stars and Founders All-League. Ellie also picked up Founders Honorable mention accolades.

Walker's has several players who have been nominated for the National Field Hockey Coaches Association National Academic Squad, which honors students at the varsity level who have also demonstrated excellence in the classroom, meeting a minimum GPA of 3.5 out of 4.0. Walker's nominees include seniors Lauren Cleaver, Lily Cullen, Kitty Huang, Kathrin Ludz, Ava Rivera, and junior Kat Mason.

The conclusion of the 2019 season marks the last high school field hockey for seven seniors, including Lily Cullen, Lauren Cleaver, Kitty Huang, Kathrin Ludz, Quinn Magnus, Mollie Morrison, and Ava Rivera.