Lee-Ann Harris P’13 Awarded the Anastasia Payne Rooke ’48 Chair in Science, Math, and Technology

LeeAnn Harris

In recognition of her distinguished performance in the classroom and for her contributions to the life of the School, Math Faculty and Middle School Director Lee-Ann Harris P’13 was awarded the Anastasia Payne Rooke ’48 Chair in Science, Math, and Technology on October 27, 2018.

Harris was recognized for her excellence in teaching, selfless collaboration, leadership and commitment to girls’ education in mathematics. “Lee-Ann is an excellent math teacher,” said a colleague. “Her students appreciate her clear expectations and creative approaches to learning math. She is also a steady and dependable director of the Middle School. Lee-Ann’s contributions to the School are often behind the scenes: assistant coaching, wrangling Suns and Dials, running an amazing Centennial celebration. We are lucky to have her.”

The Chair is awarded for a three-year-term and was established at The Ethel Walker School in 1998 by Will and Stacie Rooke under the auspices of the Withington Foundation. It serves as a tangible representation of the School’s recognition of the importance of providing the highest quality education for young women in science, math, and technology and to acknowledge in a profound way Stacie Rooke’s passionate regard for the value of a Walker’s education for young women.