Seventeen Walker’s Students Inducted into Cum Laude Society

May 7, 2019

On Monday, May 6, 17 Walker’s students were inducted into The Ethel Walker School chapter of the Cum Laude Society, an organization that recognizes academic achievement in secondary schools for the purpose of promoting excellence, justice and honor. (

Senior inductees this year included Celeste Davis ’19, Royi Jin ’19, Hester Li ’19, Sabrina Li ’19, Elise Namnoum ’19, Hannah Schweitzer ’19, Hazel Wang ’19 and Alice Zhao ’19. Juniors Cara Cui ’20, Kitty Huang ’20, Abby McRavey ’20, Riley Sheldon ’20 and Liyanni Vazquez ’20 were also inducted for academic work so extraordinary as to merit early recognition into this society. The inductees were joined by Isabelle Chen ’19, Stephanie Makowski ’19, Caroline Smith ’19 and Maisie Smith ’19, who were inducted into the Cum Laude Society last year as juniors.

The Cum Laude Society, founded in 1906, has grown to include 382 chapters throughout world and inducts around 4,000 new members each year. The Ethel Walker School is in its 66th year as a member school of the Cum Laude Society.